shortcut to to main content
Guilderland Central School District masthead
click to visit Altamont Elementary home pageclick to visit Guilderland Elementary home pageclick to visit Lynnwood Elementary home pageclick to visit Pine Bush Elementary home pageclick to visit Westmere Elementary home pageclick to visit Farnsworth Middle School home pageclick to visit Guilderland High School home page

click to go to advanced search pageclick to go to A to Z Web site index pageEmpowering all students to succeed in the 21st century mission statement
Featured links heading


GHS students selected to Area All-State Honor EnsemblesTen students selected for Area All-State Honor Ensembles

Oct. 24, 2013—The Guilderland Central School District Music Department is pleased to announce that 10 Guilderland High School students were recently selected to perform in the Area All-State Music Festival, to be held November 22 and 23 at Saratoga Springs High School.

These outstanding ensembles consist of students chosen from a nine county area including Albany, Fulton, Hamilton, Montgomery, Rensselaer, Saratoga, Schenectady, Warren, and Washington counties. Competitive selection to these groups is based upon the score received by the students’ during the previous spring at the NYSSMA solo evaluation festival.

The Concert Band, under the direction of Dan Fabricius, will include: Allegra Wu, flute; Angelo Amore & William Wang, clarinet; Andrew Dame, trumpet; and Joel Anthony, trombone.

Singing in the Chorus, under the direction of Amy Story, will be: Elise Burby, Hannah Hernandez and Courtland Ingraham.

Performing in the Symphony Orchestra, under the direction of Jim Rabinowitz, will be: Therese Giordano, French Horn.

Selected by audition to perform with the Jazz Band, led by Larry Balestra, will be trombonist Joe Giordano.


The concert will be held on Saturday, November 23 beginning at 2 p.m. in the Saratoga High School auditorium. This outstanding performance is open to the public and tickets are $8 for adults, $3 for students, and $5 for senior citizens.

Congratulations to all our talented young musicians, their families and their music teachers: Kathleen Ehlinger, Lee Russo, and Rae Jean Teeter.