Elementary level | Middle School level | High School level | GCSD Math Zone for K-8

Elementary level

In 2015, New York State (NYS) began a process of review and revision of its current mathematics standards adopted in January of 2011. The New York State Next Generation Mathematics Learning Standards (2017) reflect revisions, additions, vertical movement, and clarifications to the current mathematics standards. The New York State Next Generation Learning Standards for Mathematics (updated June 2019)  will be fully implemented in September 2020. The Standards are defined as the knowledge, skills and understanding that individuals can and do habitually demonstrate over time because of instruction and learning experiences. These mathematics standards, collectively, are focused and cohesive—designed to support student access to the knowledge and understanding of the mathematical concepts that are necessary to function in a world very dependent upon the application of mathematics, while providing educators the opportunity to devise innovative programs to support this endeavor. 

To prepare students for the changes in the way we live and work, and to be sure that our education system keeps pace with what it means to be mathematically literate and what it means to collaboratively problem solve, we need a different approach to daily teaching and learning. We need content-rich standards that will serve as a platform for advancing children’s 21st-century mathematical skills —their abstract reasoning, their collaboration skills, their ability to learn from peers and through technology, and their flexibility as a learner in a dynamic learning environment. Students need to be engaged in dialogue and learning experiences that allow complex topics and ideas to be explored from many angles and perspectives. They also need to learn how to think and solve problems for which there is no one solution—and learn mathematical skills along the way. 

Learn more about the K-5 Math curriculum:

GCSD Math Zone

Visit the GCSD Math Zone to find lots of fun math games, tools, tips and more.

Middle School level

The middle school Math program is closely aligned with the New York State Learning Standards for Mathematics and share the same goals to provide students with the knowledge and understanding of mathematics necessary to function in a world very dependent upon the application of mathematics. Focus in the curriculum is meant to give students an opportunity to understand concepts and practice with them in order to reach a deep and fluent understanding. Coherence in the curriculum means progressions that span grade levels to build students’ understanding of ever more sophisticated mathematical concepts and applications. Rigor means a combination of fluency exercises, chains of reasoning, abstract activities, and contextual activities throughout the module.

The Mathematics standards presented by the New York State Learning Standards describe varieties of expertise that mathematics educators at all levels should seek to develop in their students. These practices rest on important “processes and proficiencies” with longstanding importance in mathematics education.

The New York State Learning Standards include six instructional shifts to facilitate student proficiency in mathematics with a focus on shifting instructional methodology on the Practice Standards.  The Practice standards include:

  1. Make sense of problems and persevere in solving them.
  2. Reason abstractly and quantitatively.
  3. Construct viable arguments and critique the reasoning of others.
  4. Model with mathematics.
  5. Use appropriate tools strategically.
  6. Attend to precision.
  7. Look for and make use of structure.
  8. Look for and express regularity in repeated reasoning.

For additional information regarding the NYS Learning Standards for Mathematics, please visit:

    Learn more about the 6-8 Math curriculum:

    GCSD Math Zone

    Visit the GCSD Math Zone to find lots of fun math games, tools, tips and more.

    High School level

    The primary goal of the mathematics department at the high school level is to promote increased student participation, confidence, and success in the study of mathematics. The Mathematics Department offers a wide variety of courses that prepare students for either future study or careers.

    All students must complete at least three years of mathematics and pass one Regents examination. Students may complete as many as six courses with approximately eighty percent completing at least four. Many of our seniors take AP Calculus, AP Computer Science or Pre-Calculus for which they may earn college credit or advanced standing.

    Learn more about Math courses at the high school.

    The district is not responsible for facts or opinions contained on any linked site. Some links and features on this site require the Adobe Acrobat Reader to view. Visit the Adobe website to download the free Acrobat Reader. This website was produced by the Capital Region BOCES Engagement & Development Services, Albany, NY. Copyright © 2024. All rights reserved.