Clubs and Activities

A-G | H-O | P-Z

Alliance Club

The Alliance Club aims to create a safe, welcoming and inclusive school environment for all students regardless of sexual orientation, identity, race, or disability.

Days meeting: Mondays during activity period (3:25-4:05 p.m.)
Club meeting location: Tawasentha room 153
Advisor(s): Mrs. Rader,  raderc@guilderlandschools.net
Ms. Jager: jagerc@guilderlandschools.net
Mr. Sorli: sorlic@guilderlandschools.net

Best Buds Club

We build friendships between students with and without disabilities. We play games, do crafts, and have LOTS of fun.

Days meeting: Twice a month on Thursdays during activity period (3:25-4:05 p.m.)
Club meeting location: Mohawk room 200
Advisor(s): Mrs. Doyle: doylea@guilderlandschools.net
Mrs. Dougherty: doughertyk@gmail.net

Chamber Strings Club

A select string orchestra for the advancing 6th, 7th, and 8th grade orchestra students who wish to explore more challenging and exciting string music. There are several performances during the school year. Auditions are held in September.

Days meeting: Mondays 7:45-8:35 a.m.
Meeting location: Orchestra room 514 
Advisor(s): Mrs. Dame, damek@guilderlandschools.net

Charlotte Club

A group of students who love to read and explore the world of books.

Days meeting: Mondays during activity period (3:25-4:05 p.m.)
Club meeting location: In the Library, upstairs round building
Advisor(s): Mrs. Stedge, stedges@guilderlandschools.net
Ms. Lehman: lehmanl@guilderlandschools.net
Join our Google Classroom: 2yqlgvv

Chess Club

Relaxed 3D Chess Experience

Days meeting: Thursdays during activity period (3:25-4:05 p.m.)
Club meeting location: Seneca room 408
Advisor(s): Mr. Flynn, flynnr@guilderlandschools.net

Club Ultimate

A social club and a place to meet old and new friends to: complete homework or a project, draw, play a game, listen to music… you decide!

Days meeting: Wednesday afternoons
Club meeting location: The Reading Place, Room 563 upstairs in the round building
Advisors: Mrs. McCutcheon, mccutcheonl@guilderlandschools.net

Community Service Club

We will do various community service projects, such as food drives and hopefully trips to the soup kitchen. We are also open for suggestions of new ways to help others.

Days meeting: First and third Tuesdays of the month during activity period (3:25-4:05 p.m.)
Club meeting location: Seneca room 407
Advisor(s): Mrs. Watson, watsonl@guilderlandschools.net

Courtyard Club

Courtyard Club helps to maintain the Butterfly Courtyard. During fall and spring, we will be outside working to keep everything looking beautiful. In the winter, we will be learning about all of the amazing things you can find out in the courtyard as well as working on “passion projects”. This club is ideal for those who already participate in the summer Butterfly Station program or those who are looking to do so in the future.

Days meeting: Rotates Monday/Tuesday/Thursday 
Club meeting location: Mohawk room 207/Butterfly Courtyard
Advisor(s): Mr. Winchester, winchesterj@guilderlandschools.net
Mrs. Mullins, mullinsj@guilderlandschools.net

Doodle & Cartooning Club

Do you like to doodle, draw and cartoon? Come join us for a period of creativity and artistic expression. EVERYONE IS WELCOME…feel free to bring your own art supplies, but supplies will also be available.

Days meeting: Thursdays during activity period (3:25 p.m.-4:05 p.m.); Dates are 10/13, 10/27, 11/10, 11/17, 12/8
Club meeting location: Cafeteria
Advisor(s) & Other information: Mrs. Rader, raderc@guilderlandschools.net
Mr. Kramek, kramekm@guilderlandschools.net

FACS Cares Club

FACS cares is a community service sewing club open to all 6th, 7th and 8th graders. We make various sewing projects that are donated to local charities. Students receive community service credit for participating in FACS Cares.

Days meeting: Select days during activity period. Schedule shared on our FACS Cares Google Classroom.
Club meeting location: Upstairs in the round building, room 561 (sewing room)
Advisor(s) & Other information: Want to join? Email Mrs. Mac Entee at
macenteem@guilderlandschools.net and you will be added to the FACS Cares Google Classroom. This is how all information about club activities is shared.

*It is helpful to have sewing machine experience or FACS class prior to joining, but it’s not required.

FMS Mask

We are the FMS drama club that puts on a musical each year. This club includes the stage and tech crews. Show dates are March 18th, 19th, 20th 2022

Days meeting: November – March, Auditions dates and rehearsal information to come.
Club meeting location: To be announced
Advisor(s): Mrs. O’Mahony, omahonys@guidlerlandschools.net
Mrs. Mewhorter, mewhortert@guilderlandschools.net

FMS Ski and Snowboard Club

FMS Ski and Snowboard Club is for new skiers and boarders and for skiers who want to improve their skiing/snowboarding ability. Our trips are to Jiminy Peak Mountain Resort and occur on Thursday evenings. We start the first Thursday after the holiday break. All participants will take ski or snowboard lessons, as part of a package offered by Jiminy Peak. No prior experience is necessary and all FMS students are welcome to apply. Transportation, lift tickets and lessons are included in the cost. Equipment rental is not included in the cost.

We receive a very high number of applications, so unfortunately the club needs to be limited. To ensure students from all three grade levels get selected, a lottery will occur for each grade level. Please be aware that many students will not be selected during the lottery process. If your child is not drawn, they will be placed on a waiting list in order of the lottery results.

The deadline for applications is by 5 p.m. on Monday, November 14. See the link below for complete cost information and exact dates of our trips:

Enrollment Link (and more details)
Print out the FMS Ski and Snowboard Club: General Information and Medical Form

Days meeting: Thursday afternoon/evenings, beginning in January
Club meeting location: Reception area to board buses
Advisor(s): Mrs. Susan Curro, curros@guilderlandschools.net
Mr. Dennis Ball, balld@guilderlandschools.net
*All grades welcome!

Future City Competition

Students are presented with a problem and have to research and build a model city in the future that addresses the problem. We then compete with area schools in January.

This year’s competition theme: Climate Change Impact. “Teams this year will be asked to choose a climate change impact and design one innovative and futuristic climate change adaptation and one mitigation strategy to keep your residents healthy and safe.”

Days meeting: Tuesdays and Thursdays after activity period (will need a ride home at 5:30 p.m.)
Club meeting location: Mohawk room 253
Advisor(s): Miss Been, beenr@guilderlandschools.net
Mrs. Werner, wernerk@guilderlandschools.net

GAPS — Guilderland Animal Protection Society

We are all about the animals! We will be learning about and finding ways to help domestic animals, but also exploring the outdoors and learning about wildlife!

Days meeting: During activity period (3:25-4:05 p.m.). Stay tuned to the morning announcements for dates.
Club meeting location: Hiawatha room 306
Advisor(s): Mrs. Antidormi, antidormis@guilderlandschools.net
Mrs. Ford, fordj@guilderlandschools.net
Mrs. Margosian, margosianj@guilderlandschools.net

Back to Top

Intramural Sports-Grade 6 & 7

Sports and Games

Days meeting: During activity period (3:25-4:05 p,m.); Mondays grade 6, Tuesdays grade 7, Wednesdays grade 8
Club meeting location: FMS Main Gym
Advisor(s): Ms. Buckley, buckleyk@guilderlandschools.net
Mrs. Ficarra, ficarraj@guilderlandschools.net
Mr. McConaghy, mcconaghys@guilderlandschools.net
Mr. Cacckello, cacckellof@guilderlandschools.net

Magic — the Gathering

Know how to play…or want to learn how…? We have decks for use…join us and learn how to play!

Days meeting: Mondays during activity period (3:25-4:05 p.m.)
Club meeting location: Seneca room 402
Advisor(s): Mr. M. Ball, ballm@guilderlandschools.net
Mrs. Miller, millerkristen@guilderlandshools.net
Mrs. Moran, moranm@guilderlandschools.net

Math Counts

A math competition team that competes with other area schools. We work on challenging math problems that require some out-of-the-box thinking. If you like math and enjoy a challenge, come join the team!

Days meeting: Tuesdays during activity period (3:25-4:05 p.m.)
Club meeting location: Ms. Been’s room (Mohawk 253)
Advisor(s): Ms. Been, beenr@guilderlandschools.net
Mrs. Girard, girarda@guilderlandshools.net
Join our Google classroom: 2reulgv

Muslim Student Association (MSA)

Raise awareness for current-day issues, learn more about Islam and meet new people!

Days meeting: Every other Thursday during activity period (3:25-4:05 p.m.)
Club meeting location: Mohawk room 209
Advisor(s): Mrs. Kilcourse, kilcourset@guilderlandschools.net

National Junior Honor Society 2021-2022

Scholarship, Service, Leadership, Character, and Citizenship are the five key components for membership into the National Junior Honor Society. Only students at the eighth-grade level are considered for candidacy. For more information, visit here.

Advisor(s): Mrs. Abbasi, abbasim@guilderlandschools.net

Organic Garden Club

Do you like to get your hands dirty? If so, the Organic Garden Club is for you! Organic gardening is a philosophy of gardening that supports the health of the whole system. The FMS Organic Garden Club’s goal is to plan and help maintain the school’s organic garden. Students also start seeds in the greenhouse in late winter and early spring to plant in the garden.

Days meeting: At least once a month rotating between Monday, Tuesday and Thursday. We will also meet on some Saturdays and Sundays. Join the Garden Club classroom for exact dates of the meetings.
Club meeting location: Garden and/or greenhouse and/or in room 553
Advisor(s): Mrs. Malanga, malangaa@guilderlandschools.net
Please email Mrs. Malanga for the join code. The code will bring students to the Organic Club classroom  for dates and other information.

Origami Club

Do you want to fold impressive tessellations, cool animals, complex modulars & intricate airplanes?

Days meeting: Mondays during activity period (3:25-4:05 p.m.)
Club meeting location: Seneca room 401
Advisor(s): Mr. Ball, ballm@guilderlandschools.net
Mrs. Miller, millerkristen@guilderlandschools.net
Ms. Moran, moranm@guilderlandschools.net

Scratch Coding Club

Learn how actual game developers create their games. Create games using scratch. Design and create your own games!

Days meeting: Thursdays during activity period (3:25-4:05 p.m.)
Club meeting location: Seneca room 409
Advisor(s): Mrs. Iddings, iddingss@guilderlandschools.net
Dylan Iddings

Select Band

An audition-based band made up of 6th, 7th, or 8th grade students who play a band instrument in their grade-level band, with more challenging, and exciting music played. 

Days meeting: Tuesday mornings, 7:45-8:35 a.m.
Club meeting location: Band rooms 511/512
Advisor(s): Ms. St. Clair, stclaira@guilderlandschools.net

Student Council

 Representatives and alternates are elected by their social studies classmates. Officers are elected in school-wide elections. Students must make a commitment to attend meetings and dedicate additional time to successfully organize and participate in activities. We are in charge of running school wide events like Spirit Week!

Days meeting: Rotates Monday, Tuesday, Thursday
Club meeting location: Mohawk rooms 257/258
*We also utilize Google Classroom as a meeting space*
Advisor(s): Mrs. Mullins, mullinsj@guilderlandschools.net
Mrs. Crisafulli, crisafullim@guilderlandschools.net

Vocal Thunder

Vocal Thunder is a singing group open to 6th-8th grades. The group rehearses and performs current and classic styles of Rock and Pop. We sometimes use beat-boxing, percussion and other instruments to accompany. Interested students will have to do a short audition.

Days meeting: Wednesday mornings 7:50 a.m. Students will need their own transportation.
Club meeting location: Chorus room 513
Advisor(s): Mrs. Casellini, casellinin@guilderlandschools.net
Contact Mrs. Casellini if you are interested! Please listen for announcements and check bulletin boards in the Music Suite.

Washington Studies Club

If you LOVE history, this is the club for you! Washington Studies is a club all about our nation’s capital. It culminates with a trip to Washington D.C. in the spring of your 8th grade school year. This is a club for 7th and 8th grade students.

Days meeting: During activity period (3:25-4:05 p.m.)
*(The club does not always meet every week.)
Club meeting location: Hiawatha room 357
Advisor(s): Mrs. Sittig, sittigc@guilderlandschools.net

Yearbook Club

In our club, we learn how to take good photos, do online graphic design, layout pages and publish the FMS yearbook!

Days meeting: First Thursday of each month during activity period (3:25-4:05 p.m.)
Club meeting location: Join our Google Classroom: tztnflq
Advisor(s): Mr. Tuxbury, tuxburyl@guilderlandschools.net
Mr. Ball, ballm@guilderlandschools.net

Zentangle Club

A club to learn and practice the Zentangle method of drawing — an easy, fun, and relaxing way to make art which anyone can do.

Days meeting: Tuesdays during activity period (3:25-4:05 p.m.) Once a month the club meets until 5:30 p.m.
Club meeting location: Library
Advisor(s): Mrs. Lehman, lehmanl@guilderlandschools.net

Back to Top

The district is not responsible for facts or opinions contained on any linked site. Some links and features on this site require the Adobe Acrobat Reader to view. Visit the Adobe website to download the free Acrobat Reader. This website was produced by the Capital Region BOCES Communications Service, Albany, NY. Copyright © 2023. All rights reserved.